GRFL - Board of Directors

The GRFL Constitution states that the number of Directors shall be 7 and shall be constituted as follows:

  • 4 Directors (who must be Growers) elected by the Members - "Grower Directors"; and
  • 3 Directors (who shall possess scientific or commercial skills) appointed by the Grower Directors - "Independent Directors".
Directors shall hold office for no longer than 2 years and at each annual general meeting one-half of the Grower
Directors shall retire but are eligible for re-selection.
Independent Directors shall hold office for no longer then 2 years but are eligible for reappointment. 


Damien Scanlan (Chairman)

Grower Director

Damien is a grain and fat lamb producer from the Goondiwindi area. He is actively involved in agribusiness as a consulting agronomist. Damien has played a prominent role in industry organizations including representing the south-west region on the Queensland Grain Growers Association and Agforce Grains

Wayne Newton

Grower Director

Wayne is a grain and cotton producer in the Dalby area and has been an active grain industry representative for many years for growers of this region. He is currently the Northern Region grower representative on the National Grains RD&E Framework Steering Committee.  Wayne has been a strong advocate for sustainability and has been at the forefront of conservation farming with a focus on a systems approach. Wayne has recently been involved in study tours examining the United States' ethanol industry, and Brazilian grain production systems.

Brendan Taylor

Grower Director

Brendan was born in Chinchilla and is a third generation farmer from Warra managing a family owned grain production business of 2,000 acres.  Brendan is skilled in the production of summer and winter grains.

Brendan completed his schooling at Toowoomba Grammar School, has an Associate diploma in Agriculture and graduated in 2012 in the Australian Future Grains Leaders Program.  Brendan is chairman of the Brigawow Jimbour Floodplain Group and a foundation member of Agchatoz.

Luke Skerman

Grower Director

Michael Bell

Independent Director

Meg Kummerow

Independent Director

Meg Kummerow is the Secretary and an Independent Director of the Grains Research Foundation as well as the Executive Officer.

 Meg grew up on a beef cattle property in the Central Burnett and attended the Dalby Agricultural College where she completed an Advanced Diploma in Rural Business Management. She has previously worked in the cotton and beef feedlotting industries.Meg is involved with the Australian Sunflower Association and the Australian Summer Grains Conference. She also runs Flying Ag Australia, providing farm ready drones to Australian agriculture.  Meg is passionate about the combination of technology, innovation, social media and agriculture.