Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Grains Research Foundation Limited consists of four (4) grower directors and three (3) independent directors.

In accordance with the constitution of GRFL each year by rotation one half of the grower directors shall retire but are eligible for reelection.

Luke Skerman -

Grower Director & Chair

Damien Scanlan -

Grower Director & Immediate Past Chair

Damien is a grain and fat lamb producer from the Goondiwindi area. He is actively involved in agribusiness as a consulting agronomist. Damien has played a prominent role in industry organizations including representing the south-west region on the Queensland Grain Growers Association and Agforce Grains. Damien was chair of GRFL from its inception in 2007 through to 2019.

Brendan Taylor -

Grower Director

Brendan Taylor is the manager of a multi generational family grain growing business from the Warra District on the Darling Downs in Queesland. He is the current Chairman of the Agforce Grains Board, a director of Agforce Queensland and a student of the game of golf.

Vacancy -

Grower Director

Tamara Uebergang -

Independent Director & Grower

Professor Michael Bell -

Independent Director

Professor Mike Bell holds a position of Chair in Tropical Agronomy at UQ Gatton Campus, jointly supported by QAAFI and the School of Agriculture and Food Science. He leads regional and national research programs in the fields of farming systems, crop nutrition and soil and land management in tropical and subtropical agricultural systems in Australia and SE Asia. This work includes developing strategies for improving Nitrogen Use Efficiency and reducing offsite N losses in the Australian sugar industry, improving fertilizer application strategies for phosphorus and potassium in the grains and cotton industries and improving the integration of legumes in cereal and sugarcane cropping systems. He has well developed networks with producers, agronomists and researchers in the broadacre cropping industries.

Meg Kummerow -

Independent Director, Secretary & Executive Officer